Unstructured Ramblings.

I’ve made a few (failed, or maybe just short-lived) attempts at blogging before. Maybe because they were always around certain themes which limited what I felt I could, or should, post. For someone like me who is constantly running off at the mouth about one thing or another, that leads to boredom. And quick. I’ve decided to take another hack at it. I need an outlet to save my friends on social media who may or may not care to hear my self-righteous opinions day in and day out from my near continuous ranting about various topics.

Whether it is about sports, literature, my cats, my ongoing genealogical research, my personal battle with epilepsy, the raising of my son, or just the latest political topic, I seemingly always have something to say. My views on many issues are constantly evolving. I may be strongly opinionated, but I do listen to others. From time to time others make more sense than my thinking, and though I’d probably never admit to them that they were right, on more than one occasion casual (and many times heated) debate has changed my mind. I refuse to call myself a conservative or a liberal. To me those are just divisive labels. You can be the judge of that yourself as you read what I have to say. I honestly don’t care which you think I am. I’ve been called both, with both being used as a compliment and an insult depending on who the label was coming from. I believe what I believe and if you don’t agree, that is fine. I wholeheartedly welcome differing opinions (going back to the listening to others), however if you don’t have anything constructive to add, just keep it to yourself.

I welcome anyone and everyone to read along. I’m not conceited enough to actually believe that anyone will give a second thought of caring about my point of view or the latest goings on in my life, and that is perfectly fine. I’m also aware that only in today’s narcissistic society would it be remotely acceptable to journal online for all to see. However, I know that I have come across posts of all sorts online which have done a multitude of different things. One is show me that someone else feels the way I do. Everyone enjoys feeling understood, so maybe the things that I have to say can provide that to someone out there in cyber space. The other thing that I have found in my internet explorations is things that I didn’t know before. Including points of view, that while maybe I knew they existed, I didn’t understand until I saw them explained in a certain way.

We are all on this journey called life together, even the people we disagree with, we are in it together. We can choose to help each other or we can choose to fight each other or simply ignore each other, but we cannot escape each other. For that reason attempting to understand each other helps everyone in the end.

4 thoughts on “Unstructured Ramblings.”

  1. I’m really glad you’re doing this, Christina! I especially identify with what you said about blogs being beneficial by showing us that there are others who feel the same way about things.

    Looking forward to more of your posts!

    Like

  2. Nice job. I like this. My daughter tried many times to get me to blog. I told her I didn’t have time and probably no one would care to read it anyway. I think her motive was to eliminate having to read many of my political rants on Facebook. She said: “Blog. That way people who agree with you will be able to read it.” Never mind that.

    I’ve been writing stories for about a year now, putting together what I hope to be a memoir one day. If I decide I’m finished with it. I have 20 pieces done so far. So, I stay busy with that when I can–although I don’t spend nearly as much time writing as I’d like.

    Keep up the good work. I will gladly follow you.

    Like

    1. That is one reason I’m doing it, you and I fall along very similar political lines and as I am sure you know, those lines are typically among the minority in the areas in which we live and have friends and family. The other reason is to write. I wrote a lot in college, but I haven’t done much (the occasional letter to the editor) since. I guess this is a way to get warmed up to doing it again. Thanks for the follow!

      Like

Leave a Reply

